Home : Stock : Albums : Indie Rock : Ali Love/LOVE HARDER CD


Groove Dis Exclusive. ALI LOVE's debut album delivers a catchy electro-pop style with shades of PRINCE falsetto, channeling the 80's vibe of modern vocalists MIKA or FRANKMUSIK. Looped synth and disco vibes penetrate the entire album, some resemble TOM TOM CLUB with a higher intensity for ITALO-POP. (BACK YARD)

01. Love Harder
02. Done The Dirty
03. Diminishing Returns
04. Moscow Girl
05. Smoke & Mirrors
06. Show Me
07. Dark Star
08. Talk To Tokyo
09. Love In Darkness
10. The Night

"Ali Love is the Hoxtonite scenester best known for guesting on the Chemical Brothers' "Do it Again" in 2007 and for his own magnificent minor hit "Secret Sunday Lover" which provides the template for much of his second album.
Love Harder's 10 tracks all inhabit a quadrilateral whose coordinates are 1980s soul, Euro-house, P-Funk and Moroder-esque electro, and if the lyrics slump too frequently into lazy dance-music clichés, then killer tunes such as "Show Me" more than make up for it."
--Reviewed by Nick Coleman, The Independent, Sunday, 1 August 2010

"Ali Love has been plying his pop-disco trade since 2006 but was essentially anonymous until last weekend, when a flurry of tabloid stories "linked" him with actor Mischa Barton. Most identified him as a DJ; in fact, he's a singer in the mould of Mika and Frankmusik. The former's campness and the latter's 1980s-referencing electropop comprise the essence of Love Harder, though Love lacks their distinctiveness. His falsetto, meanwhile, conjures up Prince without Prince's salaciousness, if that can be imagined. Despite all that, swathes of his debut do get under the skin. Done the Dirty gnaws its way into the memory – its looped synth line's resemblance to Tom Tom Club's Genius of Love helps – as does Show Me, which samples Steve Winwood's Higher Love. The single Smoke and Mirrors is the high point, an Italo-pop confection that would soar to No 1 if Kylie Minogue sang it."
--Reviewed by Caroline Sullivan, Guardian.co.uk

Catalog # BACK51CDC1 2
Weight 0.22 lbs
Sound Sample:LISTEN
Our price: $18.00


Listen to the samples using the player. If it does not work in your browser please make sure it is up to date and possibly upgrade it to the latest version. Also you may consider downloading the playlist and listening the samples using any software (for example: winamp).
: *
: *
: *
Ron Trent & Erik Rico/SENSATION 12" Hybrid/DISAPPEAR HERE 12" League Unlimited/LOVE & DANCING LP
Adika Pongo/GROOVIN' UP HITS '97-'11 CD DJ Manaia/PULL UP EP 12" Various/POOLSIDE SOUNDS VOL.II 12"
Aphrohead/LET'S PRANCE & REMIXES 12" Sleazy McQueen/DISCO DAD EP 12" Souldynamic/CHAMELEON EP VOLUME 3 12"